D. Criminal Provisions
Under Florida law, if you have a lawful right to be in a location you may stand your ground and meet force with force. This includes bodily force if you reasonably believe it will prevent death or bodily harm to yourself or others. A license to carry a handgun is not valid in any of the following places or circumstances, whether it is issued by Florida, or a person is carrying pursuant to a reciprocity between his or her state of license and Florida:
- A firearm must be stored in a locked container with a trigger lock so as to be unattainable to a minor under the age of 18.
- A person carrying a weapon should not exhibit the weapon in a rude, careless, angry, or threatening manner, unless in self-defense.
- A person carrying a weapon should not exhibit the weapon on public or private school grounds or facilities, a school bus, a school bus stop, at school-sanctioned activities, or within 1,000 feet of school property or any professional athletic event. [http://budurl.me/glbs22]
- Discharge of a firearm in a public place, or on a public road, including from inside a vehicle (within 1,000 feet of any person), unless in self-defense.[http://budurl.me/glbs23]
- Use a firearm (have it readily accessible and loaded) while under the influence of alcohol, controlled, or chemical substance which impairs a person’s normal faculties. [http://budurl.me/glbs24]
- An individual shall not carry a firearm if they habitually use alcohol or other substances to impair his or her normal functions. [http://gunla.ws/upys]
- A person shall not carry a firearm at any restaurant or property licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages. [http://gunla.ws/urty]